At halftime of Friday’s boys basketball game, Loyola publicly unveiled the banner for the football team’s Class 8A state title. It’s the program’s third football state championship, joining the ones earned by the 1993 and 2015 teams.

The Ramblers reeled off eight wins in a row, punctuated by their 13-3 victory over Brother Rice in the state final at University of Illinois’ Memorial Stadium. Loyola was led by senior captains Rory Boos, Jack Fallon, Jake Gonzalez and Joe Naselli.

Loyola also recognized the 1993 team Friday. Among the players who attended the ceremony were captain Jim Tomaska and Adrian Autry, a member of school’s Hall of Fame. Both are part of the Class of 1994.

Under head coach John Holecek, the Ramblers have played in four consecutive Class 8A state finals, winning it all twice. In 13 seasons at Loyola, Holecek is 145-31 and has finished second in Class 8A four times.

As usual, the Ramblers will have to replace a majority of their starters. Those expected to return with experience include Trevor Cabanban, Luke Desherow, Peter Gianaris, Christo Kelly, Josh Kruetz, Frank Lynch,  Matty Mangan and Nate Van Zelst.

Desherow, Kelly and Mangan have been named captains for 2019.

Video credit: Todd Cabanban

Photo credit: Geoff Scott