Here are the team award-winners for fall sports (Editor’s note: Not every team hands out awards).


The Ramblers went 11-9 and lost to New Trier 2-1 in overtime in the state quarterfinals.

MVP — Malley Flanagan

A three-year varsity player, the junior defender and captain played every minute of every game. She was the team’s most improved player a year ago.

Coaches Award — Grace Balestrery

Head coach Annie Nimz comment: This award goes to the player who exhibits the Loyola spirit and someone the coaches can always count on. Grace was a senior captain and a four-year participant in our program. She was a good leader for our team and role model for our players. She was an all-conference and all-state player and instrumental in organizing the Stick it to Cancer game.

Most Improved — Caroline Foley

The junior forward and first-year varsity player scored a team-best 11 goals. She had three goals in the team’s playoff win against Lakes.

Sportsmanship Award — Grace Sullivan


The Ramblers finished 12-2, won the Catholic Blue championship with an undefeated record and took second in Class 8A.

Robert W. Skoglund Award — Andrew Forsyth (pictured above)

This honor goes to the player who exhibits excellence in both the classroom and on the football field. The award’s namesake was a 1943 Loyola graduate who played for Notre Dame and the Green Bay Packers.

Rev. John P. Beall, S.J. MVP Football Award — Quinn Boyle

Given to the best player on the team. A captain and starting quarterback, Boyle completed 62.7 percent of his passes for 2,202 yards and threw 21 touchdowns. He ran for 818 yards and eight TDs.

Michael I. English, S.J. Memorial Award — Charlie Largay

An award that recognizes the player whose ability, courage and dedication to his craft are second to none. It’s named in memory of a former President of Loyola who encouraged and supported rebuilding the athletic program during the 1960s.

John H. McCummisky, S.J. Memorial Award — John McMahon

This honor, named for a former teacher at Loyola in the 1960s, is given to the player who showcased a consistent record of good sportsmanship.

Bill and Nicki O’Donnell Award — Charlie Gilroy

Winners of this award are players who provide inspiration to teammates during the least glamorous and most challenging times by displaying leadership and enthusiasm during practice sessions.

MVP of Offense — James Joyce

MVP of Defense — Marty Geary

Strength Award — Ryan Hagedorn

Most Improved Award — Chris Scott

2018 captains — Rory Boos, Jack Fallon, Jake Gonzalez, Joe Naselli


The Ramblers won a regional and sectional title in the same season for the first time in program history and finished fifth at the Class 3A state tournament.

Coach’s Award — John Kryscio

Head coach Tim Kane comment: John was a four-year varsity player and was the leader on the team, both verbally and with his play. He helped the coaches in countless areas, and he will be missed.

MVP — Chip Savarie

A four-year varsity player, Savarie was a major contributor since his sophomore season and a two-time state qualifier, tying for 26th at the Class 3A state tournament as a senior. He tied for first at the sectional with senior teammate Ben Scherman, losing in a playoff for medalist honors.

Most Improved — Danny Curran

Kane comment: He went from not making the team as a junior to having his score count in numerous matches this season. He had a great work ethic, and it paid off.


The Ramblers won the GCAC championship, took second in both the regional and sectional and finished eighth at the Class AA state tournament.

MVP — Nina Rutkowski

The GCAC’s player of the year, the senior and four-year varsity player was medalist or co-medalist in every match during regular season except for one and top three in all invitationals in regular season. At the Class AA state tournament, Rutkowski led Loyola to eighth place by tying for 30th. She was a three-time qualifier for the state tournament.

Most Improved — Mary Boesen

Although a varsity player as a freshman, Boesen didn’t make the postseason lineup. This year, not only did her score count in every match, she tied for 51st at the Class AA state tournament.

Coaches Award — Tatum Koehn

Head coach Carli McKenney comment: Tatum was the captain for our team this year. She always stepped up to offer an extra hand to her coaches. Tatum, despite ups and down in play, stuck with it, trusted the coaches and stayed as positive as she could when times were more challenging and ended up having some career low rounds towards the end of the season. Tatum supported everyone on the team, both players and coaches. Tatum was a true representation of a Rambler golfer.


The Ramblers were runners-up in the GCAC and finished fourth at the Class AA Niles West Sectional.

MVP — Maggie Hines

The senior and four-year varsity player teamed up with junior Lizzie Witkowski to win four matches at the Class AA state tournament. Loyola’s No. 1 doubles team lost only six times all season. Hines won 13 matches in three trips to the state tournament in doubles. Head coach Tom Gordon said she will “go down as one of the most decorated female tennis players ever at Loyola.”


The Ramblers finished 23-13 — the sixth time in head coach Mark Chang’s tenure they won at least 20 games — and 3-3 in the competitive GCAC Red. Notable victories included ones against Glenbard West and St. Francis, both of which won Class 4A regional titles.

Offensive MVP — Mary Kate Lopez

The junior right-side hitter registered 200 kills, averaging 2.6 kills per set, to become the third player in program history to total 200 or more kills in a season. Christina Reed and Olivia Van Zelst are the others.

Defensive MVP — Elizabeth Ford

The junior middle’s 86 blocks set a program record for most in a season, beating out Kelsey O’Neill, who had 82 in 2013. Ford averaged 1.2 blocks per set.

Photo credit: Geoff Scott