The Loyola varsity football team finished 13-1, captured the Catholic Blue championship and took second place in Class 8A. The Ramblers had their banquet Monday.

Here is a look at the players who earned season-ending honors.

Robert W. Skoglund Award — Graham Repp (pictured above)

This honor goes to the player who exhibits excellence in both the classroom and on the football field. The award’s namesake was a 1943 Loyola graduate who played for Notre Dame and the Green Bay Packers.

Rev. John P. Beall, S.J. MVP Football Award — Jake Marwede

Given to the best player on the team. The 6-foot-5, 240-pound Marwede totaled 910 yards (569 receiving, 341 rushing) and 21 touchdowns (15 rushing, 6 receiving). He has verbally committed to Duke.

Michael I. English, S.J. Memorial Award — Jack Badovinac

An award that recognizes the player whose ability, courage and dedication to his craft are second to none. It’s named in memory of a former President of Loyola who encouraged and supported rebuilding the athletic program during the 1960s.

John H. McCummiskey, S.J. Memorial Award — Ian Swenson

This honor, named for a former teacher at Loyola in the 1960s, is given to the player who showcased a consistent record of good sportsmanship.

Bill and Nicki ODonnell Award — Mickey Kane, Paddy Kotowski

Winners of this award are players who provide inspiration to teammates during the least glamorous and most challenging times by displaying leadership and enthusiasm during practice sessions.

MVP of Offense — Tommy Herion, David Terrell Jr.

MVP of Defense — Anthony Romano

Strength Award — John Brekke

Most Improved Award — Callum Brien, Vito Cannizzaro

2017 captains — Quinn Boyle, Marty Geary, James Joyce, Charlie Largay


Loyola had four players selected to the Illinois High School Football Coaches Association’s Academic All-State Team. They are Jack Badovinac, John Brekke, Graham Repp and Anthony Romano.

Photo credit: Geoff Scott